Christmas: vocabulary

When I was a kid Christmas meant Father Christmas, putting up  a Christmas tree alongside a Nativity Scene (yep I had a religious upbringing!) greeting cards, my mum’s poinsettia, advent calendar and unwrapping presents.

The Christmas tree would have everything on it: lights, baubles, various hanging decorations, tinsel and the unmissable star at the top.

Also, I have fading memories of wearing a reindeer costume at a Christmas recital at school where we had to sing Christmas Carols. I have even (if possible!) more painful memories of trying to ice-skate at a local ice rink (once I gave up ice-skating, Christmas simply meant making snowmen and going downhill on a sledge).

In my family Christmas has always involved sitting where your place card would say, eating enormous amounts of food on Christmas’ Eve, Christmas Day, Boxing Day and then more on New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day. Actually, we also celebrate January 6th, the day the Three Wise Men brought gifts for the baby Jesus and, when you were little, the day you would find out whether you had been a good kid or a brat. Sweets in your stocking (that would be hanging by the fireplace if you had one) meant good kid, coal meant naughty kid.

The time I spent Christmas in England, it meant Christmas crackers, Christmas pudding, raisins, turkey and the never missing rerun of A Muppet Christmas Carol.

A few years ago, Christmas just meant Christmas rush, knitting a lot of hats for family members (that would turn out to be too small or too big) but now that I do all my Christmas shopping online Christmas to me means just flying back home, letting myself being spoiled by my mother’s cuisine, watching snowflakes falling down and enjoying my beloved nieces.

Feeling Christmassy yet?

Leave a Reply

