10 Phrasal Verbs which Will Make Your English Sound More Natural

phrasal-verbs Using phrasal verbs can often make your English sound more natural. Today we’ll have a look at 10 phrasal verbs which should be part of your everyday language.

IMPORTANT TIP
When learning a new phrasal verb, remember to also pay attention to its structure. That is, focus on whether the verb is used in a transitive or intransitive way, notice what comes after the preposition (for example, a person, an activity or a thing). Indeed the same phrasal verb can have more than one meaning and to a different meaning usually corresponds a different pattern . For instance, ‘to get back from somewhere’ means to return but ‘to get back to someone’ means to contact them usually by phone or email.

This is why below I added in brackets the pattern these 10 phrasal verbs follow when they have the meaning I want to present you with.

1. TO TURN UP (someone turns up somewhere) = TO ARRIVE

someone turns up when he or she arrives somewhere.
i.e. Nobody turned up at the meeting.
I waited for an hour but nobody showed up.

TO SHOW UP means the same thing.

2. TO FIND OUT (someone finds out something) = TO DISCOVER

you find out something when you discover something that you didn’t previously know

i.e.. I’ve just found out that I’m not working tomorrow
Have you found out who that guy at the party was? 

3. TO LOOK FOR (someone looks for something or someone)

if you’re looking for someone or something, you’re trying to find it

i.e. I’m currently looking for a new job
I’ve been looking for him all morning but I couldn’t find him

4. TO GIVE UP (someone gives up an activity)

if you give up doing something, you stop doing it.

i.e. You should really give up smoking!
No, I will never give it up!

5. TO GET ON  (someone gets on with someone else)

when you get on with someone, it means that you have a friendly relationship with this person.

i.e. I don’t get on with my boss.
Me and my sister get on very well

6.  TO TURN OUT (something or someone turns out to be something or someone)

if something or someone turns out to be a particular thing, they’re discovered to be that thing.

i.e. She turned out to be a very good teacher
It turned out to be more difficult than we thought

7. TO FIGURE OUT (someone figures out something)

If you figure out a problem or an answer to a question, you understand it and solve it

i.e. I’ve never been there before and I still have to figure out how to get there.

TO WORK OUT has the same meaning

8. TO BE UP (someone is up for something/ doing something)

if someone is up for something, he or she feels like doing it.

i.e. Are you up for going to the cinema tonight?
I’m not really up for it, I’m knackered 

9. TO GET BACK (someone gets back from somewhere) = TO COME BACK

i.e. I’ll get back to London tomorrow afternoon.
He hasn’t got back from his holidays yet.

10. TO BUMP INTO (someone bumps into someone else)

If you bump into someone, you meet them by chance.

i.e. I bumped into Mary on my way to work.
In a village, you always bump into people you know.

TO RUN INTO means the same thing.

If you want to learn more phrasal verbs, you can always buy a Phrasal Verbs Dictionary!

I have one by Collins Cobuild which is very good and would recommend it.

Talk to you soon 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “10 Phrasal Verbs which Will Make Your English Sound More Natural

  1. Excellent resource for learning phrasal verbs. I’ve just come across this blog by chance and I think I’ll stick with it for as long as I can. so Thank you for sharing.

  2. Pingback: 10 Phrasal Verbs which Will Make Your English Sound More Natural | ESL at Central Carolina Community College

Leave a Reply

